

## Agriculture ● Home Economics ● 4-H GLENN COUNTY COOPERATIVE EXTENSION



## 4-H NEWS FLASH

Submitted by Deanna Rogers, 4-H Program Representative

February 10, 2013

## GLENN COUNTY 4-H PRESENTERS DO WELL!!!

Over 300 Glenn County 4-H members, leaders and family members participated in the Annual 4-H Presentation Event held Friday evening, February 1st, at the Willows Intermediate School, reports 4-H Program Representative Deanna Rogers.

The A.W. Bramwell Memorial Plaque was won this year by Carson Karle of Lake 4-H Club and Jacy Mull of the Capay 4-H Club. This award was started in 1977 and is given to the top first time, 4th or 5th grade presenters. The Carell Kolousek Award for top overall presenters was won by the team of Gracie Machado and Gianna Rodrigo of the Lake 4-H Club and Jordan Sanchez of the Schaffert 4-H Club. This plaque originated in 1979 and is awarded to the presenter with the highest overall placing score. Also awarded is a perpetual 4-H Club Demonstration Trophy for top overall points. This year it was won by the Clover 4-H Club.

Participation medals were awarded to all primary members (K-3rd grades). Those members by 4-H club were: Capay 4-H Club - Aaron Boone; Clover 4-H Club - Chelsea Weinrich, Wesley Otterson, Farrah Bassetti; Lake 4-H Club - Jodi Rodrigo, Franchesca Martins, Hannah Martins, Claire Boles, Lilly Wetz, Emma Cobb, Paulina Martins; Schaffert 4-H Club - Hannah Cloyd and Brayden Sims; Willows 4-H Club - Jakob Munguia, Laela Tucker and Allison Dalrymple, Genesiz Gomez and Orland 4-H Club - Jesse Hicks, Madilyn O'Rear and Lily Flournoy; Plaza 4-H - Haley Fumasi, Caden Titus; Stoney Creek 4-H - Braiden Borland, Lilly Borland; Grindstone Rancheria 4-H - Ethan Mitchell, Cheryl Burrows, Aleta Kirk and Helena Burrows.

Gold medal winning presentations by 4-H club were: Capay 4-H Club - Cort Johnson, Ashley Boone, Lexi Fox, Jacy Mull; Clover 4-H Club - Gillian Peters, Marissa and Wyatt Peters, Brady Holzapfel, Blaize and Brieze

Martins, Jared Mudd, Elliott and Parker Close, Marissa Rakestraw, Katherine and Lauren Taylor, Becca Fleming, Maci Amaro and Emily Wolder, Emily Beatty, Katelyn Pfyl, Sarah Weststeyn, Josina Weststeyn; Lake 4-H Club - Carson Karle, Jonathan Wetz, Amber Kurth and Janelle Fisher, Bryce Bolt, Jeslyn Svejda, Gracie Machado and Gianna Rodrigo, Raul Ramirez, Melinda Lowe and Katie Kraemer, Gerardo Carrillo, Clarissa Wetz; Orland 4-H Club - Jillian Williams, Isabella Silva, Molly Griffith; Schaffert 4-H Club - Danielle Walkup, Levi Walkup, Jordan Sanchez; Willows 4-H Club - Leslee Dalrymple, Kelsey Shippelhoute, Tehani Keolanui and Bucky Squier, Paige and Amelia Baker, Briana Briones, Kristen Chavez, Kaylee and Cody Jackson; Stoney Creek 4-H Club - Brodie Borland.

Regional Blue medal winning demonstrations by 4-H club were: Capay 4-H Club - Armando Leale, Tate Gruenwald, Connor Avrit, Gregory Nelson, John Zuppan, Kylee Rush, Alicia Murillo, Hannah Gonzalez, Alex Padilla, Breahna Rush, Kembly Gonzalez, Wade Gruenwald; Clover 4-H Club - Mikayla Massa, Taylor Gray, Devon McCorkle, Colton Geiger, Kylee Lutz, Raelene Garnett, Gina Amaro, Jordan Berlin, Codie Giffin, Garrett Otterson, Grayson Taylor, Austin McDonald; Shelby Weinrich, Lauren Brott, Jacob Montz, Marshall Thompson, Sarah Mendonca and Madalyn Nissen, Meghan Weinrich, Vanessa Mudd, George Amaro, Clay Bassetti, Hanna Parisio, Gracie Flowerdew, Magella Millen, Jenna Montz, Conner Sandoval, Jacob Yeager; Elk Creek 4-H Club -Kim Kohler and Trista Smith; Lake 4-H Club - Caitlyn Kizer, Geoffrey Chavez, Kylee Rosasco and Jillian Drake, Benicio Martinez, Baylie Belew, Callie Tanson, Caleb Andres, Kate Grimsman, Michael Montes, Trinity Cobb, Ashley Pinedo, Gabriel Chavez, Hannah Wetz and Morgan Skala, Austin Burreson, Gustavo Carrillo; Orland 4-H Club - Rebekah Erickson, Evan Bailey, Lane Williams, Cooper Deitz, Kody Buttermore, Katherine Valle, Wyatt Foster, Ian Silva, Jared Beaver, Hannah Peeler, Justin Hicks, Mikaela Hanes, Tessa Flournoy, Carolina and Marci Murillo, Max Peeler, Sydney Paillon, Kayla O'Rear, Lydia Beaver, Jack Williams; Plaza 4-H Club - Hunter Foster, Madalee Smith, Devon Bly, Lillyanna Silveira, Jared Poldervaart, Jack Lazzaretto, Oliver Moore, George Jongsma, Matt Freitas, Gusten Titus, Cole Fumasi, Finnegan Bly, Everett Moore, Joseph Silveira; Willows 4-H Club - Rylan Keolanui, Julia Lederer, Mariah Baker, Clayton Arendt, Amy Arendt, David Zimmerman, Nayely Gonzalez, Natalia Navarro, Justin Chapman; JayCee Ward, Sheyenne Munguia, Josie Green, Odell Calvada, Karson Ward and

Dominic Tapia, Ryan Shippelhoute, Sarah Zimmerman; Schaffert 4-H Club - Savannah Argueta, Natalie Guerrero, Haylie Schatz, Riley Cloyd, Shelby Lloyd, Jada Zaragosa, Rocco Becerra; Stoney Creek 4-H Club - Briggs Borland, William Inzunza; Grindstone Rancheria 4-H Club - Jared Burrows, Brandon Burrows and Evan Mitchell, Hunter Kirk, Skye Britton, Jarell Burrows.

Those receiving a County Blue Ribbon were: Capay 4-H Club - Victor Leyva, Evan and Adrienne Boone, Abigail Leyva, Kathryn and Derek Dowdy; Lake 4-H Justin St. James and Tyler Andres; Clover 4-H - Danelle Garnett, Kanon Taylor, Luke Taylor and Willows 4-H Club - Eric Zimmerman.

Many of these Glenn County 4-H'ers will compete in the Sectional Presentation Event to be held Saturday, April 6, 2013 at Nord Country School, Chico. Good luck to all who choose to participate!

Also, thank you to all those older members, leaders, parents and friends of 4-H who helped with judging and tabulating for this event. They are as follows: Cady Hale, Dari Bailey, Gina Taylor, Cathy Mudd, Sue Shuey, Tyler Boer, Amanda Alves, Victoria Shuey, Timothy Kraemer, Viviana Hernandez, Michelle Gini, Amy Lindsey, Michael Sanchez, Allison Hill, Kyle Scritchfield, Susan Shippelhoute, Michele Inzunza, Ty Kohler, Lane Gruenwald, Mr. and Mrs. Otterson, Rachel Tanson, Lacey Embrey, Ben Howard, Maria Giovanni, Gene Massa, Katie Freitas, Aileen Flynn, Dave Howard, Becky Gruenwald, Ethan Sims, Arthur Flynn, Shannon Leal, Curtis Avrit, Rylee Deitz, Ally Zuppan, Harrison Polk, James Corneliussen, Trever Geiger, Anna Canon, Travis Chapman, Cheryl Massa, Andrea Boer, Summer Curry, Landry Otterson, Deborah Storz, Danny Zuppan, Jake van Tol, Drew Rogers, Danielle Rogers, Aaron Ramirez, Donna Flynn, Wesley Cundiff, Erin Parisio, Makaylee Lindsey, Loretta Howard, Ted Herrera, Terri Curry, Connor Zuppan, Nisha Nelson, Emily Baker, Maigen Matteucci, Susan Polk, Liz Roman, Sara van Tol, Samantha Parisio, Heather Boer, Nina Gini, Denny Rogers, Tanner Bailey, Lainie Alves, Kathy Valle, Michell Williams, Jody Samons, Carol Zuppan, Brian Jones, Heather Embrey and Debbie Scritchfield. A special thanks to Tori Shuey, Loretta Howard, Sue Shuey, Dave Howard, Cheryl Howard, Rosie Inzunza, and the All Star & BLAST members, Layne Embrey, Frida Valle, Kassidi Buttermore and Natalie Massa for all of their help throughout the day.

	#	#	#	#	
Cooperative Extension Work in Agriculture a	nd Home Economics	, U.S. Department of A	Agriculture, Universit	y of California and County of Gle	nn Cooperating
			- *	•	