## 4-H NEWS FLASH

Submitted by Deanna Rogers, 4-H Program Representative

January 25, 2012

## GLENN COUNTY 4-H COUNCIL LEADERS' APPRECIATION DINNER WELL ATTENDED

Over 120 Glenn County 4-H Leaders and their spouses, along with local government representatives and other special guests, attended the 60<sup>th</sup> Annual Glenn County 4-H Leaders' Appreciation Dinner. Glenn County Office of Education helped to sponsor this dinner. Along with the dinner, came an evening filled with fun and entertainment. Glenn County 4-H All Stars Natalie Massa, Jeffery Flanagan and Kassidi Buttermore, along with BLAST members Katie Freitas and Layne Embrey, and 4-H Program Assistant Jessica Campbell, organized the games and contests that were sprinkled throughout the evening. Deanna Rogers emceed the event.

There were many awards given out during the evening festivities. The meritorious awards are given to an organization, business or individual who is not currently active in the 4-H program, but have made an impact on our organization. The recipients this year were Chris Stifter and the Glenn County Board of Supervisors - Steve Soeth, John Viegas, Mike Murray, Leigh McDaniel and Dwight Foltz.

Anthony and Melinda Matteucci of the Schaffert 4-H Club are this year's winners of the "Loving Cup II" award. This award is given to especially caring, outstanding 4-H leaders or supporters.

The "4-H Ringleader Award" went to Amy Freitas of the Clover 4-H Club and Sara van Tol of the Schaffert 4-H Club. The recipient for this award is chosen by the 4-H Office staff, and goes to a leader who has shown unique approaches to solving problems, is resourceful in accomplishing goals, has the ability to motivate other volunteers, and one who is pleasant to work with.

The "4-H Mission Award" is given to someone who creates a supportive environment for youth and adults, enabling them to reach their fullest potential. They are the kind of person who is creative in providing educational programs, and motivates and encourages youth to participate in real-life experiences that the 4-H program has to offer. The recipient of this award is Bill Cleland a countywide project leader. Betsy Karle of the Lake 4-H Club was given the "Vision Award". This award is given to leaders who are instrumental in developing youth to become productive citizens, and have adapted to the changing program in a positive way which benefits the children.

Another award that was presented was the "Room 707 Award". Each year a leader with five years or less of volunteer service is selected as the recipient of this award. The leader's name is engraved on a perpetual plaque, and the 4-H Council pays for his or her registration to attend the annual 4-H Leaders' Conference. This year's winner is Patricia Sims of the Schaffert 4-H Club.

The Lifetime Service Award, an award for a leader with at least 15 years of continual and loyal service in perpetuating the goals and mission of 4-H, went to Jay Overholtzer, a countywide archery project leader. He has been a leader for 17 years. He was the only countywide archery leader for years. He started the tradition of having an end of year outdoor archery shoot at the West Valley Bow Hunters range and continues to help when time allows.

One last award for the evening is the Outstanding Entertainer Award. This award is decided on by the local dignitaries that attended the dinner, and was awarded to Shannon Deitz & Terri Curry for providing the most entertainment for the evening with their rendition of Mary Had A Little Lamb.

Thank you to those 4-H members who helped throughout the evening: Amanda Alves, Lainie Alves, Wade Archer, Kody Buttermore, Summer Curry, Amanda Poldervaart, Lacey Embrey, Matthew Freitas, Cody Jackson, Kaylee Jackson, Frida Valle, Katherine Valle, Ally and Danny Zuppan.

On behalf of the approximately 450 members and 140 leaders of the Glenn County 4-H Program, thank you to Ord Bend Community for allowing us to have the dinner in their hall.

#



Glenn County Board of Supervisors were recipients of the Meritorious Award.

#



Chris Stifter also received a Meritorious Award.