

## Agriculture Home Economics 4-H GLENN COUNTY COOPERATIVE EXTENSION





Submitted by Deanna Rogers, 4-H Program Representative

February 7, 2012

GLENN COUNTY 4-H PRESENTERS DO WELL!!! Over 300 Glenn County 4-H members, leaders and family members participated in the Annual 4-H Presentation Event held Saturday morning, February 4th, at the Willows Intermediate School, reports 4-H Program Representative Deanna Rogers.

The A.W. Bramwell Memorial Plaque was won this year by the team of Amber Kurth and Jasmine Queen of Lake 4-H Club. This award was started in 1977 and is given to the top first time, 4th or 5th grade presenters. The Carell Kolousek Award for top overall presenters was won by the team of Amelia Baker of the Clover 4-H Club and Lauren Brott of the Willows 4-H Club. This plaque originated in 1979 and is awarded to the presenter with the highest overall placing score. Also awarded is a perpetual 4-H Club Demonstration Trophy for top overall points. This year it was won by the Clover 4-H Club.

Participation medals were awarded to all primary members (K-3rd grades). Those members by 4-H club were: Clover 4-H Club - Matthew Freitas and Wesley Otterson; Lake 4-H Club - Kenzie Eddy, Jodi Rodrigo, Carson Karle and Jonathan Wetz; Schaffert 4-H Club - Brayden Sims; Stoney Creek 4-H Club - William Inzunza, Joan Salgado and Milan Pete; and Orland 4-H Club - Jesse Hicks.

Gold medal winning presentations by 4-H club were: Capay 4-H Club - Breahna Rush and Ashley Boone; Clover 4-H Club - Lauren Taylor, Marshall Thompson, Amelia Baker, Garrett Otterson and Summer Curry; Elk Creek 4-H Club - Kim Kohler; Lake 4-H Club - Amber Kurth, Jasmine Queen, Bryce Bolt, Gracie Machado, Aaron Ramirez, Clarissa Wetz and Evan Bailey; Orland 4-H Club - Mikaela Hanes and Katherine Valle; Plaza 4-H Club - Gusten Titus; Schaffert 4-H Club - Natalie Guerrero, Haylie Schatz, Ethan Sims and Michael Sanchez; Willows 4-H Club - Lauren Brott, Paige Baker, Kaylee Jackson and Cody Jackson.

Regional Blue medal winning demonstrations by 4-H club were: Capay 4-H Club - Alicia Murillo, Cort Johnson, Hannah Gonzalez, Kylee Rush, Lyla Jackson, Rebecca Gini, Tate Gruenwald, Idalis Lujan, Alyssa Lujan, Armando Leal, Lexi Fox, Kathryn Dowdy, Derek Dowdy, Maria Ahumada; Clover 4-H Club - Brodie Briggs, Braden Richter, Danelle Garnett, George Amaro, Clay Bassetti, Magella Millen, Weston Sites, Matthew Bateman, Blaize Martins, Breize Martins, Sean Carriere, Katie Garcia, Taylor Gray, Maci Amaro, Katherine Taylor, Marissa Rakestraw, Becca Fleming, Lauren Richter, Tyler Boer, Makaylee Lindsey, Gina Amaro, Gillian Peters, Samantha Parisio, Hanna Parisio, Luke Taylor, Raelene Garnett, Jordan Berlin, Shane Rakestraw, Wyatt Sites, Jonathan Berlin, Trever Geiger, Colton Geiger, Mikayla Massa and Kanon Taylor; Lake 4-H Club - Baylie Belew, Benicio Martinez, Callie Tanson, Enrique Ramirez, Gustavo Carrillo, Hannah Wetz, Jeslyn Svejda, Jillian Drake, Emilee Hine, Lacey Gilmore, Gianna Rodrigo, Melinda Lowe, Katie Kraemer, Morgan Skala, Lucas De Avila, Emilio Martinez, Chase Butterfield, R.J. Sandate, Kylee Rosasco, Aileen Flynn, Gerardo Carrillo, Mateo Martinez, Tim Kraemer, Estella Gilbert, Madelyn Gilmore and Cooper Deitz: Orland 4-H Club - Sydney Paillon, Tessa Flournoy, Justin Hicks, Isabella Silva, Molly Griffith and Frida Valle; Plaza 4-H Club - Lillyanna Silveira, Joseph Silveira and Zoey Steiner; Willows 4-H Club - Anabell Espinosa, Jose Green, Kelsey Shippelhoute, Ryan Shippelhoute, Nayely Gonzalez, Sheyenne Munguia, Taylor Culp, Tehani Keolanui, Taylor O'Reilly, Vanessa Mudd, Briana Briones, Julia Lederer, Tylan Keolanui, Mariah Baker, Clayton Arendt, Jared Mudd and Kristen Chavez; Schaffert 4-H Club - Danielle Walkup, Jack Lazzaretto, Levi Walkup, Riley Cloyd and Travis Chapman; Grindstone Rancheria 4-H Club - Hunter Kirk, Skye Britton and Jared Burrows.

Those receiving a County Blue Ribbon were: Capay 4-H Club - Mariana Murillo and Carolina Murillo; and Willows 4-H Club - Amy Arendt.

Many of these Glenn County 4-H'ers will compete in the Sectional Presentation Event to be held at Willows Intermediate School on Saturday, March 17th. Good luck to all who choose to participate!

Also, thank you to all those older members, leaders, parents and friends of 4-H who helped with judging and tabulating for this event. They are as follows: Ally Zuppan, Amanda Poldervaart, Cade Johnson, Courtney Thomson, Danny Zuppan, Laura Thomson, Liz Roman, Michelle Gini, Nisha Nelson, Becca Lohse, Robert Brandon Thomson, Sarah Boone, Tessa Betenbaugh, Shannon Leal, Becky Gruenwald, Amanda Alves, Andrea Boer, Ashlynn Geiger, Carol Martin, Holton Martin, Katie Freitas, Kayla Tuma, Lainie Alves, Paige Holzapfel, Ramsey Weber, Cheryl Massa, Melinda Tuma, Jennifer Carriere, Deborah Storz, Harrison Polk, Susan Polk, James Corneliussen, Arthur Flynn, Dari Bailey, Marco Carrillo, Rylee Deitz, Tanner Bailey, Timothy Hofman, Wade Archer, Betsy Karle, Tammy Rush, Shelby Hine, Shannon Deitz, Salina Edwards, Chris Stifter, Michell Williams, Karrie Silveira, Katie McDaniel, Audra Jones, Caitlyn Davis, Conor Fleming, Cormac Fleming, Dominic Garzoli, Emmy Henning, Samantha Poldervaart, Jake van Tol, Sara van Tol, Maigen Matteucci, Dave Howard, Loretta Howard, Michelle Inzunza, Ken Shuey, Tori Shuey, Sue Shuey, Mindy Arendt, Susan Shippelhoute and Kyle Scritchfield, Amy Frietas, Fred Freitas, and Jim Jones. A special thanks to Tori Shuey, Loretta Howard, Ken Shuey, Sue Shuey, Dave Howard, Debbie Scritchfield, Michelle Inzunza, Rosie Inzunza, Holton Martin, Carol Martin, Jody Samons, Dawn Valleza, Carol Zuppan, and the All Star & BLAST members, Jeffery Flanagan, Natalie Massa, and Katie Freitas for all of their help throughout the day.

# # # #

Cooperative Extension Work in Agriculture and Home Economics, U.S. Department of Agriculture, University of California and County of Glenn Cooperating

## GLENN COUNTY 4-H NEWS FLASH