Press Release



July 12, 2016

Glenn County Cooperative Extension

P.O. Box 697 Orland, CA 95963 (530) 865-1107 office (530) 865-1109 fax http://ceglenn.ucanr.edu

Glenn County 4-H'ers Went To "Camp 4-H...World Tour" at Camp Tehama

Over 85 4-H members, 21 Teen Counselors, three Youth Directors and 24 adult staff from Glenn County 4-H attended the annual 4-H Summer Camp held at Camp Tehama June 23rd—26th reports UCCE Glenn County Program Representative Sara van Tol. This year's camp was under the direction of Deanna Rogers and Jamie Marron, along with Youth Directors Michael Sanchez, Summer Curry and Taylor Gray. The theme of the camp was "Camp

4-H...World Tour," with each cabin representing a different country. There were many activities offered, including archery, crafts, dancing, fishing, fort building, ice cream making, recreational games, tie-dying, and much more. Campers had the opportunity to experience an outdoor setting conducive to learning how to get along with others and learn the value of participation. 4-H members from 3rd grade to 8th grade participated as campers, while high school 4-H members served as youth counselors.

Youth counselors this year were Gina Amaro, Evan Bailey, Evan Boone, Chase Butterfield, Travis Chapman, Riley Cloyd, Rebekah Erickson, Cody Farrell, Jack Lazzaretto, Melinda Lowe, Amanda Poldervaart, Kelsey Shippelhoute, Ethan Sims, Bucky Squier, Katherine Tayler, Kathy Valle, Levi Walkup and Ally Zuppan. Adult volunteers that helped and provided support were Dari Bailey, Jessica Campbell, Marty Cloyd, Melissa Cloyd, James Corneliussen, Mary Fernandes, Steven Habroun, Sandi Hubbard, Rosie Inzunza, Jessica Lloyd, Anthony Matteucci, Maigen Matteucci, Marley Matteucci, Melinda Matteucci, Trisha Nissen, Charissa Olmos, Steve Olmos, Eric Roberts and Kyle Scritchfield.

Outstanding Boys' Cabin award went to Cabin 13. The counselors for that cabin were Travis Chapman and Evan Boone. The cabin youth were Charlie Squier, Caden Titus, Bryce Mull and Luke Vlach. Outstanding Girls' Cabin award went to Cabin 12. The counselor for that cabin was Amanda Poldervaart. The cabin youth were Niya Saldivar, Allison Tomas, Trista Smith, Mary Squier, Magella Millen and Amelia Heaney. The Biggest Fish award went to Caleb Andres. The Smallest Fish Award went to Brody Padgett. The Best Sportsmanship award for fishing went to Jonathon Wetz.

The Clean Cabin award for the boys' cabin went to Cabin 5. Bucky Squier was the counselor, and the campers were Brayden Sims, Allen Grass, Jaiden Gomez, Mason Greeley and Dillon Millar. The Clean Cabin award for the girls' cabin went to Cabin 8. Melinda Lowe was the counselor, and the campers were Gracie Cloyd, Shelby Nissen, Lily Wetz, Jessie Elkin, Haley Fumasi and Emma Thomas.

The Best Decorated boys' cabin was Cabin 15. Chase Butterfield and Evan Bailey were the counselors for that cabin, and the campers were Owen Hutsell, Cole Fumasi, William Inzunza and Wyatt Heaney. The Best Decorated girls' cabin was Cabin 12. The counselor for that cabin was Amanda Poldervaart and the campers were Niya Saldivar, Allison Tomas, Trista Smith, Mary Squier, Magella Millen and Amelia Heaney.

Outstanding male counselor was presented to Riley Cloyd. The outstanding female counselor was awarded to Kat Taylor. The winners of the Swing Dance Contest were Rocco Beccerra and Thea Baldridge for first place. The second place winners were Bryce Mull and Gracie Cloyd and Bryce Bolt and Mary Squier took third place. Special Youth Director Outstanding Camper Awards were given to: Brandon Quintel, Aubree Eddy, Jesse Olmos, Farrah Bassetti, Sophia Berglund and Charlie Squiet.

Campers who attended camp are: Luke Vlach ,Grady Lloyd, Shelby Lloyd, Parker Close, Mallory Foster, Elizabeth McIntyre, Brayden Sims, Rocco Becerra, Kenzie Eddy, Aubree Eddy, Dylan Franck, William Inzunza, Thea Baldridge, Aaron Boone, Ciara Fleming, Jonathan Wetz, Lilly Wetz, Jasmine Queen, Kate Amaro, Lauren Taylor, Emma Canalia, Jaiden Gomez, Allison Thomas, Emma Thomas, Haley Fumasi, Cole Fumasi, Trista Smith, Dillon Millar, Allyson Reid, Kyle Lowe, Cliff Johnson, Bryce Mull, Jacy Mull, Allen Grass, Breahna Rush, Owen Hutsell, Farrah Bassetti, Dominic Raymondo, Caden Titus, Gusten Titus, Kaitlyn Kampmann, Charlie Squier, Mary Squier, Evan Grass, Sarah Mendonca, Teresa Mendonca, Tyler Andres, Caleb Andres, Dainelle Walkup, Jodi Rodrigo, Hunter Perry, Shelby Nissen, Maddy Nissen, Sophia Berglund, Niya Saldivar, Amanda Millar, Leanndra Rash, Lauren Richards, Anthony Richards, Billie Throm, Karli Lanzi, Carina Olmos, Viviana Olmos, Jesse Olmos, Kaylin Silva, Jessie Elkin, Bailee Elkin, Brandon Quintel, Robert "Brody" Padgett, Bryce Bolt, Mason Greeley, Wade Gruenwald, Damien Bailey, Nathan Bailey, Gracie Cloyd, Hannah Cloyd, Liam Paulos, Kaden Paulos, Magella Millen, Amelia Heaney, Wyatt Heaney, Emma Cobb, Nicole Corporon, Hannah Wetz, Sydney Del Pape, Sarah Carrow, Dominic Tapia, Justin Chapman and Georgia Nissen.

We want to thank the following for their generous food and supply donations: Rolling Hills Casino, April Richards, Pepsi Bottling Company-Redding, Frito Lay, Sierra-Nevada Cheese Company, Paul & Terri Curry and Rumiano Cheese Company.

The Glenn County 4-H Council would like to thank Camp Directors Deanna Rogers and Jamie Marron and also Camp Cooks Debbie Scritchfield and Terri Curry, Camp Medical Staff Michelle Dobbs and Office Staff Lea Eddy & Sara van Tol for their time and support for "Camp

4-H...World Tour."



120 Youth 4-H Campers and Counselors last day of camp around the campfire.

